Waverley Rugby Club was founded in 1971 by ex-students of the neighbouring Waverley College and their friends from other local schools.

Some of those who played for the Club in those early years were the sons whose fathers (as schoolboys) had won the 1932 Kentwell Cup - being the first to inscribe the name "Waverley" on the sterling silver cup of the NSW Suburban 1st Gde, 1st Divison, trophy. Apart from some of the members of that 1932 team being early supporters of the Club, one was the Coach of the Club's first premiership in 1972, the undefeated Walker Cup (1st Gde of the then NSW Suburban, 3rd Division "B" competition). Another cut the pocket from his "1932 Premiership Blazer" and had it placed in the centre of the Club's 1st Gde Best & Fairest Shield named in honour of the Captain of the 1932 Kentwell Premiers who kicked the winning goal.

As the Club developed during the 1970s and 1980s, the name "Waverley", its players and supporters, became synonymous with diversity, reflecting the multiculturalism of the Waverley municipality, comprising the suburbs of Bondi, Bondi Beach, Bondi Junction, Bronte, Clovelly (in part), Dover Heights, North Bondi, Queens Park, Rose Bay (in part), Tamarama, Vaucluse (in part) and Waverley itself. The Club also developed into a sporting club playing netball, softball, touch football, volleyball and, in 2002, womens' rugby.

The initial dream of those who founded and supported the Club, as well as the many others who joined and suported in the subsequent years, was realised in 1989, when the Club's 1st Grade brought the "Kentwell Cup" back to Waverley. This was repeated in 1990 and 1991 with Waverley becoming only the second Club to achieve a "three peat" in Kentwell Cup premierships and also winning the 1st Div Club Championship 1989-90-91-92.

The success has continued. Waverley has now won 9 Club Championships and 46 premierships since 1971.

And our Under 21s kicked off our 50th Anniversary Season by winning the NSW Suburban Rugby Union 7s Knockout for Under 21s.

But the Club has also, since its foundation, had as one of its aims, apart from playing good Rugby, having a wonderful social side!  Indeed, in the 1980s, when the NSW Suburban Rugby Union had social awards, Waverley was voted by the member clubs in its division for 5 years in a row as having the best social life:

  • 1984 1st Division "Most Social" & "Best Host"
  • 1985 2nd Division "Most Social" & "Best Host"
  • 1986 2nd Division "Most Social", "Best Host" & "Best Administered"
  • 1987 1st Division "Most Social" & "Best Host"
  • 1988 1st Division "Most Social" & "Best Host"

The tradition continues today. Waverley teams are instantly recognizable by the iconic playing strip of Royal Blue and Gold and the warm welcome extended to visiting teams, officials and supporters.

Waverley’s players, young and old, male and female, are renowned for being a very tight-knit group and over their years at the Club develop friendships that last a lifetime.

Former players of note include Owen Finegan (Australia, Men's, 56 Caps and 1999 World Cup Wallaby), Paige Butcher, Anita Flannery  Noella Green and Ruan Sims (Australia, Women's), Emma McBride (Scotland, Women's), Josia Taqiri (Fiji, Men's, 1 Cap), Sebastian Valech Alonso (Chile, Men's, 8 Caps), Eddie Paea  (Tonga, Men's, 3 Caps) and Ben Evans (Wales, Men's, 27 Caps),

The Club currently competes in Division One of the NSW Suburban Rugby Union or  "Subbies" Rugby, as it is affectionately known, a six-team competition with clubs competing for the Kentwell, Burke, Whiddon, Judd and Sutherland Cups and U21s (Colts).  The Club also fields a 7th grade team in the Halligan Cup.  

In 2021, we began celebrating our 50th Anniversary.  Due to Covid restrictions cancelling the 2021 season, we are going to celebrate again in 2022 - come join the fun!

Our ground, Waverley Oval, is one of the most scenic in Australia, with ocean views and a fantastic new pavilion. Players will be able to play a game of rugby, and follow it up with an ocean swim recovery and then some socialising at our home at The Beach Road Hotel

We are always looking for new players to join our club and the fantastic culture we have at Waverley Rugby Club. 

We look forward to seeing you here.

Get on Board! Call Club Captain, Callum Bidmead (0413 362 144)

Honour Roll


(NSW Suburban Rugby Union - 9 Club Championships & 46 Premierships)

NSW Suburban Rugby Union Divisional Club Champions – 9 times

1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 (1stDiv. - Bruce Graham Shield – Club Champions)

1979, 1986, 2002, 2016 (2nd Div. – Reliance Club Shield)

2007 (3rdDiv. – Dr Keith Harris Shield)

NSW Suburban Rugby Union 1stGrade Premiers – 7 times

1989, 1990, 1991 (Kentwell Cup – 1stDiv.)

1986, 2001 (Barraclough Cup – 2ndDiv.)

2007 (Clark Cup – 3rdDiv.)

1972 (Walker Cup Undefeated – 3rdDiv. “B” – now 4thDiv.)

NSW Suburban Rugby Union 2nd Grade Premiers – 9 times

1990, 1991, 2017 (Burke Cup – 1stDiv.)

1979, 2016 (Stockdale Cup – 2ndDiv.)

2012, 2014, 2015 (Farrant Cup – 3rdDiv.)

1974 (Grose Cup – 3rdDiv. – now 4thDiv.)

NSW Suburban Rugby Union 3rd Grade Premiers – 7 times

1992, 1995 (Whiddon Cup – 1stDiv.)

1977, 1979, 2002, 2016 (Blunt Cup – 2ndDiv.)

2013 (Campbell Cup – 3rdDiv.)

NSW Suburban Rugby Union 4th Grade Premiers – 17 times

1981, 1982, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1998, 2019 

(Judd Cup – 1stDiv.)

1985(Undef.), 1986, 2000, 2009(Undef.), 2010(Undef.) (Richardson Cup – 2ndDiv.)

2013 (Nicholson Cup – 3rdDiv.)

NSW Suburban Rugby Union 5th Grade Premiers – 6 times

1983, 1986, 1987(Undefeated), 1988, 1989, 1997 (Sutherland Cup – 1stDiv.)

Taki Toa Shield Winners – 18 times

1983, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009


NSW Suburban Rugby Union 7s Knockout Under 21s ("Colts") Winners


Internationals who began at Waverley 

Owen Finegan - Supporter 1981-89, Player 1990 (Australia, Men’s, 1996-2003, 56 caps, 1999 RWC Winner)

Emma McBride (Scotland, Women’s) 

Sebastian Valech Alonso (Chile, Men's 2014-17, 8 Caps); Finn Wright (Australian Schoolboys, 2017)

Internationals selected from Waverley

Paige E. Butcher (Australia, Women's, 2001); Annita Flanery (Australia, Women's); 

​​​​​​​Ruan Sims (Australia, Women's, 2007-08)

Noella Green (Australia, Women's, 2012)​​​​​​​